Making Day 14 th February 2015

image imageMy aim for the day was to make a much larger spiral from porcelain to see how scale affects the content of my work. I thought that it would work but it collapsed gradually. At first I felt disappointed, like I had failed but after photographing and looking at what was in front of me I could see elements of inside / outside that were like body parts.

Other members in the making day suggested using a support and the artist Lawrence Edwards was recommended to look at. He works with clay and casts in bronze leaving sticks within the work. When I visited his blog I particularly liked how he cut away parts of the form and re-attached them.

Even though at times I felt frustrated with the outcome I am planning to make drawings from sections as the ambiguity of the images interest me.

Leave a Reply

