Artist Statement

imageIn my practice I am exploring the boundaries and transitions between inside and outside the human body. I am currently making sculptures using porcelain and plaster to make the spiral form to explore the overlap between inner and outer. The work is a process of revealing where visible and invisible meet. By incising, wearing away and scooping out a portion of space previously hidden is seen.The fragility of these boundaries is expressed through my choice of materials; where I am particularly interested in where one form encloses another as an interlocking space. By working on a small scale I produce work that can be displayed in groupings on a larger scale. Through the repetitive process of making these forms I am helped to understand these spaces. Drawing is also an important part of my working processes to record and develop my ideas and processes.

Leave a Reply

